The Hustlers: Being Media Journalists for a Day at #MIAS2018

It is not my first time covering an event as jam-packed as the Manila International Auto Show 2018 (or MIAS) but I must admit, the event shattered every expectation I had before stepping into the World Trade Center. It was way more overwhelming than what I have seen on videos and articles posted online. All the teasers and highlights video from the past years excited me but none of these research from social media prepared me enough for the intensity of today’s MIAS. Truly, it is not an event one can enjoy sitting pretty on his/her couch watching from a little screen. Yes, the sweat and headache are going to be a part of it, but people definitely have to go there to see for themselves and indulge in the full experience.

30070399_1766846413374347_191181929_o
Photo from: Hannah Pangilinan

Our Multi-platform Journalism class had a daunting task to deliver press releases as professional as the real journalists coming in the event. Entering the halls not as a students or a mere spectators, but “media people,” I was taken aback by the weight of the job we were sent to do. I thought how I will be experiencing the same if I pursue broadcast media in a few months for internship, so I took a deep breath and geared up as much confidence as I could.

IMG_20180405_101314 (1)
Photo from: Jason Cotaoco

Not only did each of the car brands lined up in the venue amazed me with their own shine and glamour, but the technological innovations intertwined with the connection to the human had me thinking this is more than a car show. The MIAS’ theme for 2018: “Work and Play” has been felt in the venue and I saw how attendees were actually so engaged. In a crowded event like that, I was even surprised that families brought their kids to enjoy the show. Now, I can understand how one cannot help but come back to MIAS every year because of how this industry never ceases to offer the best of the best to their loyalists and fans.

The best part of my experience is having the opportunity to get up close with the big-time professionals and businessmen in the auto industry. We were competing with the other press release (PR) firms and journalists to get even a minute of airtime with the Chief Executive Officers and Managing Directors of these multi-million companies. Every second counts; that is why we certainly had to think through our one ultimate question to come up with a unique story for our feature. Our group, amidst being neophytes in the auto world, tried our best to gather as much valuable data as we can while capturing the cool scenes and uproars inside the venue.

IMG_20180405_101310
Photo from: Jason Cotaoco

Indeed, there is a huge gap between “Expectation” versus “Reality” and I have encountered a whole new different definition of that in the kickoff of MIAS 2018. It has been more than an event for me – I have started contemplating about my future career and life decisions particularly if I really want to venture in this part of media and entertainment industry. I tried my best to maximize my experience. It has been a lot to take in – not just the size of the venue, the thickness of attendees, or the huge offerings of cars but the hustle to learn, experiment, and explore my potential as a student and a future media practitioner.

Post by: Diana Balingit

Featured Image from: Mique Watson

Leave a comment