Stranger Danger: Breaking the Norm of Street Harassment in the Philippines

            When our group Bravo brainstormed about several causes we are passionate about, we considered tackling mental health, poverty, and social media hypersensitivity before we chose street harassment as our final topic. When I was young, I did not think of it as a pressing issue that needs to be addressed in schools or by local government units. Now that I am seriously contemplating about its effects, it is even more disheartening to face my reality that it is still part of my everyday scenario as a commuter. After hearing stories from my groupmates about personal experiences of their friends and relatives, I am more convinced that this problem should not be set aside as part of the society. Instead it should be addressed immediately and aggressively because it is directly connected to street safety, peace and order of the community, and respect towards one another regardless of gender and age.

Our group came up with the campaign statement “Street Harassment 101: Breaking the Norm through Education and Empowerment of the Filipino Youthwhich is a legacy project aiming to reinforce the pressing issue of street harassment in the Philippines. We believe it should not be considered normal in our patriarchal culture as it can lead to serious cases of malicious threat, sexual assault, and gender objectification. Although most of the existing policies and movements are for women and children alone, we understand the importance of the concern to all genders (such as men and LGBTQ) and all ages (babies, toddlers, teens, and adults). Anyone now is vulnerable; that’s why it is most relevant to use platforms measured by feasibility and viability.

Team Bravo wants to launch an information campaign where we spread awareness about the laws, rights, and policies about street harassment in on-ground and online activations while pushing the government and public schools to take sufficient action in their own units. Health curriculum should discuss as early as elementary grade the necessary measures they need to practice defending specifically those who are not aware they are being sexually harassed (like children or mentally-challenged kids). Taking over public places such as transportation terminals, school grounds, and waiting sheds with striking posters and paraphernalia from barangay council is a way to start. Reaching out to specific departments of Senate to make this an official advocacy is important as well.

Though I have been a victim of catcalling countless times already, I admit that my knowledge regarding my rights is limited. I am always scared commuting back home when I need to walk in narrow bridges and streets with no lamp posts – praying there is no attacker that will suddenly come out of the dark. Daylight is not so safe either – when truck and tricycle drivers whistle while one is merely crossing the street or waiting in terminals. I try my best to stay alert when I am out of the house, but it is a shame to say that the only immediate response I know is just walking as fast as I can to avoid the potential harasser. It’s good not to be apathetic about these issues because information can save lives. Let’s use it well.

Leave a comment